Expansion works of NH-16 in AP to aid Orissa

New Delhi: The Union Cabinet Tuesday approved development of six-laning of Narasannapeta-Ranasthalam section of National Highway (NH)-16 in Andhra Pradesh, a move which is likely to largely assist the coastal state.

As per the plan, the provision for six-laning, two bypasses will ensure decongestion of the urban areas of Etcherla and Ranasthalam in Andhra Pradesh on NH-16, which passes through several areas of the state, including Cuttack and Bhubaneswar.

The 29 proposed flyovers under the plan is also likely to facilitate fast movement of traffic in the project reach while simultaneously decongesting the areas. Three trucks parking lots will facilitate smooth movement of freight traffic.

The broadening and addition of amenities meant to decongest the NH-16 is likely to reduce the travel time for passengers and commercial vehicles from different parts of Orissa to the southern parts of the country, including urban and rural areas of Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. Orissa currently hosts a total of 488 kms of the NH-16 and facilitates the movement of vehicles from Kolkata till Tamil Nadu and vice versa.

A release from the Cabinet said, “The development to six-lane of this road with bypasses at Etcherla and Ranasthalam and construction of 29 flyovers would greatly reduce travel time and vehicle operating costs as well as help in expediting the improvement of infrastructure. This road is part of the high-density traffic corridor, namely Kolkata-Cuttack-Bhubaneswar-Visakhapatnam-Vijayawada-Chennai.”

Post News Network


2,007 total views, 3 views today

recommend to friends
  • gplus
  • pinterest
  • whatsapp

Recent articles

Ration cards elude tribals

Kolimati: Amid allegations of large-scale irregularities in ration card distribution, scores of poor tribals in Kolimati panchayat under Anandapur block in Keonjhar district have been left out of the National Food Security Act (NFSA) coverage.The tribal people alleged that though … Continue reading

16,291 total views, 8,898 views today