Atibadi Jagannath Das Award for Rabi Singh

Bhubaneswar: Eminent Oriya poet Rabi Singh has been chosen for the prestigious Atibadi Jagannath Das award, the highest literary award of the Odisha Sahitya Akademi  for 2017 for his  contribution for the enrichment of Oriya literature.

Along with Singh, the akademi would also felicitate 15 other writers for the current year.

While Singh will be awarded with a cash prize of Rs1 lakh and a citation, the 15 other writers would be presented with a cash prize of Rs 25,000 and a citation each.

Sahitya akademi sources said the award would be presented to the awardees at a function, the date and time of which would be announced shortly.

Singh, known as the revolutionary poet across the state, has authored a number of books. Earlier, he has also been honoured with the Odisha Sahitya Akademi award, Gangadhar Ratha Foundation award and the Soviet Land Nehru Award.

In addition to Singh, the other eminent writers who would be felicitated by the Akadami are: Sanatan Mohanty, Rajat Kumar Kar, Bhupen Mohapatra, Naba Kishore Prusty, Ramesh Chandra Mohanty, Surendra Kumar Maharana, Trinath Sahu, Laxmidhar Jena, Bansidhar Rout, Panchhanan Mishra, Anjali Panda, Nakul Chandra Sahu, Anil Chandra Das, Kumud Chandra Das and Govardhan Naik.


1,777 total views, 9 views today

recommend to friends
  • gplus
  • pinterest
  • whatsapp

Recent articles

Ration cards elude tribals

Kolimati: Amid allegations of large-scale irregularities in ration card distribution, scores of poor tribals in Kolimati panchayat under Anandapur block in Keonjhar district have been left out of the National Food Security Act (NFSA) coverage.The tribal people alleged that though … Continue reading

21,319 total views, 13,926 views today