Top teams script narrow wins

Cuttack: Mangala Club, Independent Club, Chand Club and Yazdani Club registered narrow victories in their respective matches of the Siba Charan Behera and Kedarnath Singh Memorial state level football tournament here, Saturday.

In the inaugural match, Mangala Club defeated Sports Hostel, Cuttack via the tie-breaker as the match ended goalless in stipulated time. In the second match Independent Clun pipped Orissa Police by a solitary goal. Chand Club edged out Kishore Club 1-0 in the third match, while Yazdani Club beat Bidanasi Club by an identical margin in the fourth match.

7 from Orissa

Seven cricketers from Orissa have been registered for this edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) auction, informed Orissa Cricket Association (OCA) Saturday. The players are Govind Poddar, Biplab Samantray, Rajesh Dhuper, Subhranshu Senapati, Suryakant Pradhan, Subham Nayak and Abhisekh Rout.

Inter-School football

New Stewart School and Akruti Vidya Mandir scripted contrasting victories in their respective matches of the 19th Bhagaban Das Memorial Inter-School Junior Football Championship here Saturday.

In the first match, New Stewart thrashed Cambridge School 3-0 while in the second Akruti registered a hard-fought 3-2 victory against Om Sishu Mandir 3-2.

In another match of the VIIth Basant Kumar Das Memorial Senior Inter-School football tournament Orissa Police triumphed over SCB Medical Public School 5-2.

TCS, Orissa Veterans win

TCS and Orissa Veterans registered victories against their opponents in different matches of E-League cricket tournament at the IMMT Ground here Saturday.

In the first match TCS thrashed IMMT by 97 runs riding on an all-round show by Sibashis Sahoo (45 and 2/6). TCS scored 170 in 20 overs and then bundled out IMMT for a paltry 73 in 17 overs.

Orissa Veterans pipped Infosys by a single run in a thriller. Opting to bat first, Veterans rode on a splendid half century by Ashok Panda (69) to score 139 for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs. Infosys chased well, but were restricted to 138 in the allotted overs. CS Kanungo (2/10) was the most successful bowler for the Veterans.

post news network


779 total views, 3 views today

recommend to friends
  • gplus
  • pinterest
  • whatsapp

Recent articles

Ration cards elude tribals

Kolimati: Amid allegations of large-scale irregularities in ration card distribution, scores of poor tribals in Kolimati panchayat under Anandapur block in Keonjhar district have been left out of the National Food Security Act (NFSA) coverage.The tribal people alleged that though … Continue reading

14,741 total views, 7,348 views today


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *